阿富汗崩溃“感觉就像是金星妻子的另一场葬礼”

“感觉就像另一个葬礼,” 简·霍顿说 “美国报道.” “我今天意识到这是我一生中从未处理过的情绪. 这对亲人在战争中丧生的人说的话。”

霍顿的丈夫, 陆军特种部队. 克里斯托弗·霍顿, 9 月在阿富汗帕克蒂亚省被杀. 9, 2011 当敌军用轻武器攻击他的部队时. 这位 26 岁的球员在俄克拉荷马州国民警卫队服役.

霍顿第一次访问阿富汗是在 2016. 她正在利用她的经验为目前在该国试图脱身的人们提供建议.

“我担心的是我们的地面部队,” 她说. “我们需要为他们祈祷,因为他们中的许多人已经多次部署, 这让他们的心碎得比我们想象的要多。”

我们. 官员私下警告说 “具有挑战性” 见面 拜登总统'S 八月. 31 退出美国的最后期限. 来自阿富汗的军队, 随着数千人继续涌入该国以保护机场并协助撤离美国公民和阿富汗盟友的任务, 福克斯新闻了解到.

霍顿希望美国人不要忘记 “可怕的情况” 部队回家后.

“作为美国人,我们有责任挺身而出并要求我们以任何可能的方式解决这个问题,” 她说.

“比我聪明很多的人真的需要进入一个房间. 美国人需要要求人们为此负责, 我们调查发生了什么, 还要我们做出正确的决定,并帮助当地的人们。”

福克斯新闻’ Brooke Singman撰写了此报告.

评论被关闭.

Afghanistan collapse 'feels like another funeral' for Gold Star wife

“It feels like another funeral,” Jane Horton said on “America Reports.” “I realized today this is more emotions than I’ve ever dealt with in my life. And that’s saying something for someone whose loved one was killed in war.”

Horton’s husband, Army Spc. Christopher Horton, was killed in Afghanistan’s Paktia Province on Sept. 9, 2011 when enemy forces attacked his unit with small arms fire. The 26-year-old was serving with the Oklahoma National Guard.

Horton made her first trip to Afghanistan in 2016. She is using her experience to advise people currently in the country trying to get out.

“What I’m worried about is our troops on the ground,” she said. “We need to say a prayer for them because many of them have deployed multiple times, and this is breaking their heart in more pieces than we can imagine.”

U.S. officials are privately warning it will be “challenging” to meet President Biden‘s Aug. 31 deadline to withdraw U.S. troops from Afghanistan, as thousands continue pouring into the country to protect the airport and assist in the mission to evacuate American citizens and Afghan allies, Fox News has learned.

Horton hopes Americans will not forget the “horrific situation” after the troops come home.

“We have a responsibility as Americans to come forward and to demand that we fix this in any way that we can,” she said.

“People a lot smarter than me really need to come into a room. And Americans need to demand that people are held accountable for this, that we look into what happened, but also that we make the right decisions going forward and we help the people on the ground.”

Fox News’ Brooke Singman contributed to this report.

Comments are closed.