拜登必须支持警察而不是削弱他们

这些行动标志着总统先前支持为执法人员提供更多资金和培训的立场的逆转. 这些 行动可能会对民主党人造成灾难性后果 - 作为左派的侵略性, 反警察运动适得其反.

周四晚上,他有机会在全国电视观众面前向执法人员做出全面承诺. 他转而专注于枪支管制,从未提及.

拜登抨击执法小组的治安命令: “令人发指的政治戏剧’

在全国最大的城市, 之间的暴力犯罪上升 5 和 40 自以来的百分比 2021, 纽约的增幅最大. 这座城市记录了 43,244 5月以来的暴力犯罪事件 2021 相比 30,754 前一年的事件.

为了应对暴力事件的增加, 许多民主党人已经放弃了他们的呼吁 “退还警察” 政策, 一个明确的迹象,即使他们对自己的方向缺乏信心. 例如, 纽约市长埃里克·亚当斯, 被称为新民主党的门面, 表示纽约人需要支持当地执法.

文件——纽约市市长埃里克·亚当斯在纽约纽约州民主党大会期间发表讲话, 星期四, 二月. 17, 2022.

文件——纽约市市长埃里克·亚当斯在纽约纽约州民主党大会期间发表讲话, 星期四, 二月. 17, 2022. (美联社照片/Seth Wenig, 文件)

在四月份, 他呼吁增加该市的警察预算,并同意雇用近 600 新官员. 最近, 亚当斯呼吁每份报纸, 广告牌和广播电台讨论支持警察的重要性,并计划发起一场全面的公共关系运动,以鼓励所有美国人在最近的暴力事件中支持警察.

相似地, 主流民主党领导人拒绝其进步同行的反警察情绪. 他们指责极左派和取消对警察运动的资助,因为该党的投票率很低 2021 选举周期.

选民确认情绪. 位于拿骚县, 长岛, 长期的民主党选民将取消对警察运动的资助作为他们投票给共和党的理由 2021.

事实上, 截至 3 月,只有不到五分之一的美国人支持取消对警察运动的资助 2022. 只要 28 黑人选民的百分比和 34 百分之百的民主党人表示支持该运动.

明显地, 不断上升的犯罪率使许多人清醒过来. 国会激进分子, 然而, 仍然坚持他们的反警察议程.

他们怀着敌意迎接总统的国情咨文演讲,并呼吁在犯罪率上升的情况下加大对警务的限制. 现在他们有胆量将犯罪率上升归咎于流行病和贫困.

华盛顿邮报编辑委员会周二批评拜登总统免除学生贷款的计划.

华盛顿邮报编辑委员会周二批评拜登总统免除学生贷款的计划. (安娜摇钱树/盖蒂图片社)

疾病控制和预防中心的一份报告提出了一个奇妙的说法,即, 有效, 只有通过减少大流行病引起的贫困才能减轻枪支暴力造成的死亡风险. 专家, 另一方面, 认为 大流行与犯罪率上升无关. 代替, 他们说犯罪与弗格森效应有很大关系, 当警察阻止时的想法, 犯罪高峰.

弗格森效应在 2014 弗格森警察开枪, 密苏里州, 引发了全国范围内的抗议和骚乱. 事件发生后犯罪增加,因为警察对执法变得更加犹豫不决.

警方知道他们的行为受到公众的严格审查,有时, 合法使用武力 “在视频上看起来很糟糕。” 为了避免公众对合理使用武力的强烈抗议, 警察经常 “警察少。”

我们看到这种效果在 2020, 乔治·弗洛伊德(George Floyd)被谋杀引发的一年内乱. 当抗议者呼吁取消对警察的资助并集会支持“黑人的命也是命”运动时, 犯罪率上升 30 百分比相比 2019. 事实上, 的 2020 乔治·弗洛伊德(George Floyd)死后立即出现犯罪高峰, 大流行开始几个月后.

单击此处获取意见通讯

进步人士的反警察议程可能导致执法部门减少警察,因为担心公众强烈反对损害所有美国人.

不过, 洛杉矶市长候选人吉娜·维奥拉, 一位受到 Black Lives Matter 几名成员支持的自由主义活动家, 作为她竞选活动的一部分袭击警察: “白人至上被编入我们为建立白人财富而创建的法律体系, 执法是它的监督者。”

通过同意极左翼吹捧的内容 “警察改革” 措施, 拜登冒着加剧暴力事件的风险,同时疏远了数百万看到强有力执法价值的美国人. 他的行动标志着来自自由派立法者和活动家的压力达到顶峰,他们的社会议程忽视了事实.

他现在需要改变方向,全面致力于执法.

点击这里阅读更多来自肯尼斯布莱克威尔的文章

评论被关闭.

Biden must support police officers instead of undermining them

Such actions mark a reversal from the President’s previous position in support of more funding and training for law enforcement officers. These actions will likely have disastrous consequences on Democrats – as the Left’s aggressive, anti-police movement has backfired.   

He had an opportunity to make a full commitment to law enforcement officers Thursday night in front of a national television audience. He focused on gun control instead and never mentioned them. 

BIDEN BLASTED FOR POLICING ORDER BY LAW ENFORCEMENT PANEL: ‘OUTRAGEOUS POLITICAL THEATER’

In the country’s largest cities, violent crime has risen between 5 and 40 percent since 2021, with New York showing the greatest increase. The city has recorded 43,244 violent crime incidents since May of 2021 compared to 30,754 incidents the year before.  

In response to the uptick in violence, many Democrats have retreated from their calls for “defund the police” policies, a sure sign that even they lack faith in their own direction. For example, New York Mayor Eric Adams, known as the face of the new Democratic Party, says that New Yorkers need to support local law enforcement.   

FILE – New York City Mayor Eric Adams speaks during the New York State Democratic Convention in New York, Thursday, Feb. 17, 2022. 

FILE – New York City Mayor Eric Adams speaks during the New York State Democratic Convention in New York, Thursday, Feb. 17, 2022.  (AP Photo/Seth Wenig, File)

In April, he called for an increase in the city’s police budget and agreed to hire nearly 600 new officers. More recently, Adams called for every newspaper, billboard and radio station to discuss the importance of supporting police and plans to launch a full-scale public relations campaign to encourage all Americans to back the police amid recent violence.  

Similarly, mainstream Democratic leaders reject the anti-police sentiment of their progressive counterparts. They blame the far left and the defund the police movement for the party’s poor turnout in the 2021 election cycle.  

Voters confirm the sentiment. In Nassau County, Long Island, long-time Democrat voters cited the defund the police movement as their reason for voting Republican in 2021.  

In fact, fewer than one in five Americans support the defund the police movement as of March 2022. Only 28 percent of black voters and 34 percent of Democrats expressed support for the movement.  

Clearly, escalating crime rates have brought many to their senses. Congressional radicals, however, still cling to their anti-police agenda.  

They met the president’s State of the Union speech with hostility and called for greater restrictions on policing despite the rising crime rates. Now they have the gall to blame the pandemic and poverty for rising crime.   

The Washington Post editorial board criticized President Biden's plan to forgive student loans on Tuesday. 

The Washington Post editorial board criticized President Biden’s plan to forgive student loans on Tuesday.  (Anna Moneymaker/Getty Images)

A Centers for Disease Control and Prevention report made the fantastic claim that, in effect, the risk of death by gun violence can only be alleviated by reducing pandemic-induced poverty. Experts, on the other hand, argue that the pandemic has little to do with the rise in crime. Instead, they say that crime has much to do with something called the Ferguson effect, the idea that when police hold back, crime spikes.   

The Ferguson effect first surfaced after a 2014 police shooting in Ferguson, Missouri, that spurred protests and riots nationwide. Crime increased after the incident because police grew more hesitant to enforce the law.  

Police know their actions come under strict scrutiny from the public and that sometimes, legitimate uses of force “look bad on video.” To avoid a public outcry over a justified use of force, police often “police less.”  

We saw this effect play out in 2020, a year of civil unrest sparked by the murder of George Floyd. As protesters called to defund the police and rallied behind the Black Lives Matter movement, crime rose by 30 percent compared to 2019. In fact, the 2020 crime spike occurred immediately after the death of George Floyd, months after the pandemic began.  

CLICK HERE TO GET THE OPINION NEWSLETTER

Progressives’ anti-police agendas may have caused law enforcement to police less from fear of public backlash to the detriment of all Americans.   

Nevertheless, Los Angeles mayoral candidate Gina Viola, a liberal activist supported by several members of Black Lives Matter, attacks police as part of her campaign: “White supremacy is codified into our legal system created to build White wealth, and law enforcement is its watchdog.”  

By agreeing to what the far-left touts as “police reform” measures, Biden risks exacerbating the rise in violence while alienating millions of Americans who see the value of strong law enforcement. His action marks the culmination of pressure from liberal lawmakers and activists alike whose social agendas ignore the facts.  

He needs to reverse course and make a full commitment to law enforcement now. 

CLICK HERE TO READ MORE FROM KENNETH BLACKWELL

Comments are closed.