Boston Marathon Fast Facts

Here’s a look at the Boston Marathon, run from Hopkinton to Boston. The finish line is in front of the Boston Public Library on Boylston Street.

그만큼 2020 Boston Marathon is canceled due to the coronavirus pandemic.
4 월 15, 2019 – The 123rd Boston Marathon takes place. The winners are Lawrence Cherono of Kenya in the men’s division, and Worknesh Degefa of Ethiopia in the women’s division.


    The race is organized by the Boston Athletic Association (B.A.A.), and the principal sponsor is John Hancock Financial Services.
    Runners are categorized by gender, then by age. The age categories are: Men’s and Women’s Open (나이 18-39), 석사 (40-49), 재향 군인 (50-59), Seniors (60-69) 과 70 & 위에. Qualifying times depend on the age of the participant on the day of the race.
    Participants must be 18 years of age on the day of the race and must meet certain time standards to qualify for their age group.
    Visually impaired runners are allowed to participate, but the must have a five hour qualifying time. There are also categories for wheelchairs and handcycles.
    Runners come from all over the world to participate.


    Best Men’s Open time – 2:03:02 – Geoffrey Mutai, Kenya – (2011)
    Best Women’s Open time – 2:19:59 – Buzunesh Deba, Ethiopia – (2014)
    Best Men’s Wheelchair timeMarcel Hug, 스위스, 1:18:04 (2017)
    Best Women’s Wheelchair timeManuela Schar, 스위스 – 1:28:17 (2017)

    타임 라인

    4 월 19, 1897 – The first marathon is run and is 24.8 마일. The winner is John J. McDermott of New York, 시간과 함께 2:55:10. 있습니다 18 entrants, 15 starters, 과 10 finishers.
    1897-1968 – The race is run on April 19, 애국자’ 일, a holiday commemorating the start of the Revolutionary War only recognized in Massachusetts and Maine. In those years that April 19 falls on a Sunday, the race is held the next day, Monday the 20th.
    1918 – A military relay is held instead of the marathon due to the United Statesinvolvement in World War I.
    4 월 19, 1924 – The race is lengthened to 26.2 miles to conform to Olympic standards.
    4 월 17, 1967 – Kathrine Switzer becomes the first woman to receive a number to run in the Boston Marathon. She enters the race under the name K.V. Switzer and wears baggy clothes to disguise herself. Females are not officially allowed to enter until 1972.
    1969 – 애국자’ Day is changed to the third Monday in April, so the date of the race is also changed..
    1975 – A wheelchair division is added to the marathon. Bob Hall finishes the race in two hours and 58 minutes in a wheelchair.
    4 월 15, 1996 – The 100th Boston Marathon is run. There are a record 35,868 finishers.
    할 수있다 15, 2015 – Dzhokhar Tsarnaev is sentenced to death 그의 역할 2013 marathon bombings.
    십월 26, 2016 – Three-time winner Rita Jeptoo, of Kenya, loses her 2014 title and record for the fastest women’s finish ever (2:18:57), as part of a ruling on her two-year ban for doping.
    행진 13, 2020 – It is announced that the marathon is being rescheduled to September 14, 2020 인해 coronavirus outbreak.
      십월 28, 2020 – The B.A.A. announces that the 2021 marathon will be postponed until at least the fall of 2021 due to the coronavirus pandemic.




      , , ,

      답장을 남겨주세요

      귀하의 이메일 주소는 공개되지 않습니다. 필요 입력 사항은 표시되어 있습니다 *