French Open Fast Facts

Here’s a look at the French Open tennis tournament.


The French Open is one of four Grand Slam tennis tournaments. The others are the Australian Open, Wimbledon e il US Open.
It is the only Grand Slam tournament played on a clay court.
    September 21-October 11, 2020The French Open takes place at Roland Garros Stadium in Paris. Originally set for May 18-June 7, 2020, it was rescheduled due to the pandemia di coronavirus.
    May 26-June 9, 2019 – The French Open takes place at Roland Garros Stadium in Paris.

    2020 Results

    Iga Swiatek defeats Sofia Kenin, 6-4, 6-1, to become the first Polish grand slam winner.
    Rafael Nadal defeats Novak Djokovic, 6-0 6-2 7-5 to earn his 13th French Open title.

    Altri fatti

    Rafael Nadal has the most men’s singles wins with 13.
    Chris Evert has the most women’s singles wins with seven.

    Sequenza temporale

    1891 – The first French tournament, the International Championship of Tennis, is held and is limited to members of French clubs.
    1897 – Women’s singles matches are added to the tournament, but still restricted to French club members.
    1925 – The tournament is opened to international competitors from non-French clubs. Women’s doubles are also added.
    1928 – The tournament moves to a new stadium. The stadium and tournament are named after Roland Garros, and the tournament is still widely known by that name. Garros was an aviator who made the first successful crossing of the Mediterranean in 1913.
    1940-1945 – The tournament is canceled due to seconda guerra mondiale.
    1956 – Althea Gibson wins the women’s singles title, becoming the first African-American player to win a Grand Slam event.
    1958 – Zsuzsi Kormoczy becomes the oldest woman ever to win the singles title at 33 Anni.
    1968 – The Roland Garros is the first Grand Slam to become an open tournament.
    1972 – Andres Gimeno becomes the oldest man ever to win the singles title at 34 years and ten months of age.
    1989 – Michael Chang becomes the youngest man ever to win the singles title at 17 years and three months of age.
    1990 – Monica Seles becomes the youngest woman ever to win the singles title at 16 years and six months of age.
    2006 – The French Open awards equal prize money to the men’s and women’s singles champions, although disparity remains in all other rounds.
    2007 – Equal prize money is awarded to all female and male players across the board in all events. The French Open is the last of the four Grand Slam tournaments to make the move for equal pay in prize money.
      2011 – Li Na becomes the first Chinese national to win a Grand Slam.
      marzo 17, 2020 – Roland-Garros announces that the 2020 Open has been rescheduled due to the coronavirus pandemic.




      , ,

      lascia un commento

      L'indirizzo email non verrà pubblicato. i campi richiesti sono contrassegnati *