北卡罗来纳州的众议院初选, 功放, 或将血腥的党内战斗封为 Cawthorn, 背风处, 施拉德人脸测试

虽然 共和党宾夕法尼亚州参议院初选 吞噬了该州的大部分媒体报道, 该州第 12 届国会选区的民主党初选一直是该党建制派和进步派系之间的激烈战斗.

宾夕法尼亚州众议员. 李夏, 极左进步派, 谁正在寻求退休代表. 迈克·多伊尔, D-佩恩。, 空座.

下一个 AOC? PA SEAT 的领跑者是由 BERNIE 支持的 DEM 社会主义者, 沃伦

背风处, 一个 “队”-支持民主社会主义, 面朝下史蒂夫·欧文, 宾夕法尼亚州西部的一名律师和活动家,他支持单一付款人的医疗保健系统,但由于他强烈的亲以色列立场而与李不同.

AIPAC 下属的联合民主项目, 亲以色列的超级政治行动委员会, 代表欧文在比赛中投入了大量资金. 其他犹太组织, 包括以色列的民主党多数派和亲以色列的美国, 也把他们的重心放在欧文身后.

李因有关以色列-巴勒斯坦冲突的言论而受到犹太团体的审查, 包括将其与乔治·弗洛伊德的谋杀案进行比较.

由于该地区严重倾向于民主党, 赢得蓝色初选的人很可能会赢得新席位. 该区包括 生命之树会堂, 这是一个网站 2018 造成死亡的大规模枪击事件 11 会众.

李并非没有自己的重量级支持者, 包括Sens. 伯尼·桑德斯, I-Vt。, 和伊丽莎白沃伦, D-质量. 她还支持一些社会主义理想——包括财富的重新分配——以及有争议的进步政策,比如废除 “监狱系统。”

“而不是“感谢”’ 黑人妇女, 黑人选民, 尤其是, 黑色组织者… 给我们需要和应得的投资, 重新分配财富, 结束警察暴力, 废除监狱状态, 致力于建立黑人主导的政治权力… 和赔偿,” 李在11月发了推文 2020.

俄勒冈州的众议员之间正在上演类似的战斗. 库尔特·施拉德, D 小时。, 和他的挑战者杰米·麦克劳德-斯金纳.

我们. 代表库尔特施拉德, 或, 周二面临严峻的初选挑战.

我们. 代表库尔特施拉德, 或, 周二面临严峻的初选挑战. (Michael Brochstein/SOPA Images/LightRocket via Getty Images)

牛仔国会议员 通过他获得了潜在的主要恩惠 代言 拜登总统, 鉴于俄勒冈州民主党人投票反对总统的 $ 1.9 万亿支出法案.

“我们并不总是同意, 但当它最重要的时候, 库尔特一直在我身边,” 拜登在施拉德竞选团队发布的一份声明中说. “并且这样做, 他帮助将我的大部分议程变成了法律——对他所代表的俄勒冈人和整个美国的生活产生了巨大的影响。”

“现在我们还有很多事情要做, 为了完成它,我们需要保持民主党国会,” Biden添加了.

麦克劳德-斯金纳(McLeod-Skinner)已经确立了强有力的进步立场,并将堕胎问题作为她竞选活动的核心原则, 甚至在投票反对后抨击施拉德赞扬海德修正案——麦克劳德-斯金纳称这是一项修正案 “可恶的。”

海德修正案是一项联邦法律,禁止联邦资金用于堕胎,除非是乱伦, 强奸, 或者当母亲有生命危险时.

麦克劳德-斯金纳得到了县民主党官员的支持, 与施拉德的全国民主党支持形成鲜明对比.

共和党人并没有摆脱潜在的初选改组, 要么.

代表. 麦迪逊·科索恩(Madison Cawthorn), R-N.C。, 在他的第一次连任竞选之前面临着一场主要的闪电战,其中一个 PAC 与参议员 Thom Tillis 有联系, R-N.C。, 向新生国会议员投掷数十万美元.

我们. 代表. 麦迪逊·科索恩(Madison Cawthorn), R-N.C。, 面临一系列争议. Cawthorn 周二在北卡罗来纳州第 11 国会选区面临艰难的初选挑战.

我们. 代表. 麦迪逊·科索恩(Madison Cawthorn), R-N.C。, 面临一系列争议. 周二,Cawthorn 在北卡罗来纳州第 11 国会选区面临严峻的初选挑战. (美联社照片/克里斯·苏厄德, 文件)

蒂利斯支持考索恩的主要对手, 共和党州参议员查克·爱德华兹, 三月, 说他相信爱德华兹是 “最好的选择” 为座位. 蒂利斯还呼吁 调查 涉嫌通过加密货币进行年轻国会议员的内幕交易.

“第 11 届国会选区值得一位全心全意为选民服务的国会议员. 不幸, Madison Cawthorn 远未达到西北卡罗来纳州对其代表所期望的最基本标准, 选民现在有几位合格的候选人可供选择,他们将是一个显着的进步,” 蒂利斯说. “我相信查克爱德华兹是最好的选择。”

据报道,这位新生的共和党人也没有看到北卡罗来纳州代表团其他成员对他的连任努力的公众支持。.

在几张有争议的照片和视频在网上和播出后,Cawthorn 的初选引起了媒体的广泛关注. 新生共和党人称这几张照片和视频是 “滴水运动” 那是 “勒索.”

这段视频在国会议员的几次争议中浮出水面, 包括他声称他的共和党同事在他面前撕下可卡因线并邀请他狂欢的地方.

然而, Cawthorn 确保了 代言 前总统特朗普, 谁呼吁选民给新生一个 “第二次机会” 在他之后 “愚蠢的错误。”

“在 18 岁, 麦迪逊·科索恩(Madison Cawthorn), 现在 26 来自北卡罗来纳州的一岁国会议员, 经历了改变生活的事件, 幸运的是, 很少有人会不得不忍受,” 特朗普周末在 Truth Social 上写道.

“只需几秒钟, 他失去了下半身的使用权, 至少可以说是一次痛苦的经历. When Madison was first elected to Congress, 他做得很好,” 他继续. “最近, 他犯了一些愚蠢的错误, 我不相信他会再做…让我们再给麦迪逊一次机会!”

特朗普的支持对他正在竞选连任的红宝石区的考索恩来说是一个福音, 但这是否会胜过北卡罗来纳州当地的代言还有待观察.

评论被关闭.

House primaries in NC, PA, OR cap bloody intraparty battles as Cawthorn, Lee, Schrader face tests

While the Republican Pennsylvania Senate primary has gobbled up much of the media coverage in the state, the Democratic primary for the state’s 12th Congressional District has been a bruising battle between the party’s establishment and progressive factions. 

Pennsylvania state Rep. Summer Lee, a far-left progressive, who is looking to take retiring Rep. Mike Doyle’s, D-Penn., vacating seat.

THE NEXT AOC? FRONT-RUNNER FOR PA SEAT IS DEM SOCIALIST BACKED BY BERNIE, WARREN

Lee, a “Squad”-backed democratic socialist, is facing down Steve Irwin, an attorney and activist in western Pennsylvania who supports a single-payer healthcare system but has differentiated himself from Lee on account of his strong pro-Israel stance. 

The AIPAC-affiliated United Democracy Project, a pro-Israel super PAC, has dumped money into the race on behalf of Irwin. Other Jewish organizations, including the Democratic Majority for Israel and Pro-Israel America, have thrown their weight behind Irwin as well. 

Lee has faced scrutiny from Jewish groups for her statements about the Israel-Palestine conflict, including comparing it to the murder of George Floyd.

With the district’s heavy lean toward the Democrats, it is likely that whoever wins the blue primary will win the new seat. The district includes the Tree of Life synagogue, which was the site of a 2018 mass shooting that killed 11 congregants.

Lee isn’t without her own heavyweight backers, including Sens. Bernie Sanders, I-Vt., and Elizabeth Warren, D-Mass. She’s also endorsed several socialist ideals — including the redistribution of wealth — as well as controversial progressive policies like abolishing the “carceral system.”

“Instead of ‘thanking’ Black women, Black voters, and especially, Black organizers… give us the investments we need and deserve, redistribute wealth, ends police violence, abolish the carceral state, commit to building Black directed political power… and reparations,” Lee tweeted in November 2020.

Oregon is seeing a similar battle play out between Rep. Kurt Schrader, D-Ore., and his challenger Jamie McLeod-Skinner.

U.S. Representative Kurt Schrader, D-OR, faces a tough primary challenge on Tuesday.

U.S. Representative Kurt Schrader, D-OR, faces a tough primary challenge on Tuesday. (Michael Brochstein/SOPA Images/LightRocket via Getty Images)

The cowboy congressman received a potential primary boon through his endorsement by President Biden, who threw his hat behind the Oregon Democrat in light of his vote against the president’s $ 1.9 trillion spending bill.

“We don’t always agree, but when it has mattered most, Kurt has been there for me,” Biden said in a statement released by the Schrader campaign. “And in doing so, he has helped to pass much of my agenda into law—making a huge difference in the lives of the Oregonians he represents and all of America.”

“Now we have a lot more to do, and to get it done we need to keep a Democratic Congress,” Biden added.

McLeod-Skinner has staked out strong progressive positions and made the issue of abortion a central tenet of her campaign, even hitting Schrader for praising the Hyde Amendment after voting against it — an amendment McLeod-Skinner calls “odious.”

The Hyde Amendment is a federal law that prevents federal funds from going toward abortions except in the cases of incest, rape, or when the mother’s life is in danger.

McLeod-Skinner has received backing from county Democrat officials, in contrast to Schrader’s support from national Democrats. 

Republicans aren’t free from a potential primary shake-up, either.

Rep. Madison Cawthorn, R-N.C., is facing a primary blitz ahead of his first re-election bid that has seen a PAC linked to Senator Thom Tillis, R-N.C., throw hundreds of thousands of dollars against the freshman congressman.

U.S. Rep. Madison Cawthorn, R-N.C., has faced a series of controversies. Cawthorn faces a difficult primary challenge on Tuesday in North Carolina's 11th Congressional District. 

U.S. Rep. Madison Cawthorn, R-N.C., has faced a series of controversies. Cawthorn faces a difficult primary challenge on Tuesday in North Carolina’s 11th Congressional District.  (AP Photo/Chris Seward, File)

Tillis endorsed Cawthorn’s primary opponent, Republican state Senator Chuck Edwards, in March, saying he believes Edwards to be the “best choice” for the seat. Tillis has also called for an investigation into alleged insider trading by the young congressman via cryptocurrency.

“The 11th Congressional District deserves a congressman who is fully dedicated to serving their constituents. Unfortunately, Madison Cawthorn has fallen well short of the most basic standards Western North Carolina expects from their representatives, and voters now have several well-qualified candidates to choose from who would be a significant improvement,” Tillis said. “I believe Chuck Edwards is the best choice.”

The freshman Republican is also reportedly not seeing much public support for his re-election efforts from other members of the North Carolina delegation.

Cawthorn’s primary has gotten a lot of media attention after several leaks of controversial photos and videos have made their rounds online and on-air. The freshman Republican called the several photo and video drops as a “drip drip campaign” that was “blackmail.”

The footage surfaced amid several of the congressman’s controversies, including where he claimed his GOP colleagues had ripped lines of cocaine in front of him and invited him to orgies.

However, Cawthorn secured the endorsement of former President Trump, who called on voters to give the freshman a “second chance” after his “foolish mistakes.”

“At 18 years of age, Madison Cawthorn, the now 26 year old Congressman from the Great State of North Carolina, went through a life changing event the likes of which, fortunately, few people will ever have to endure,” Trump wrote on Truth Social over the weekend.

“In just seconds, he lost the use of the lower half of his body, a traumatic experience to say the least. When Madison was first elected to Congress, he did a great job,” he continued. “Recently, he made some foolish mistakes, which I don’t believe he’ll make again…let’s give Madison a second chance!”

Trump’s endorsement is a boon for Cawthorn in the ruby-red district he’s running for re-election in, but whether that will trump local North Carolina endorsements is yet to be seen.

Comments are closed.