Some US callers must now use 10-digit dialing as FCC sets up 988 crisis hotline

Callers in parts of 35 states and one US territory now have to dial 10 digits to make a local phone call, as the US prepares to implement 988 as the three-digit number to quickly reach the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline.

Existen 82 area codes throughout these states and Guam that allow seven-digit dialing and currently use “988” as the first three numbers of a seven-digit telephone number, de acuerdo con la Federal Communications Commission.
Beginning on Sunday, octubre 24, callers in these states that were able to make calls with seven digits must now dial the full 10 digit numbertheir area code and telephone numberto place local calls, according to the FCC. Local calls dialed with seven digits may not connect on or after Sunday.
    The US estados affected by the mandatory 10-digit dialing include: Alaska, Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawai, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Luisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Misisipí, Misuri, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, Nuevo Mexico, Nueva York, Carolina del Norte, Ohio, South Dakota, Tennesse, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, Washington and Wisconsin.
      The FCC last year established 988 as an easy to remember three-digit number for individuals seeking help to quickly dial and be directed to the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline. los 988 dialing code will be available nationwide by July 16, 2022.
        Callers can reach the 24/7 national hotline by phoning the 10-digit number: 1-800-273-8255 (TALK).




        , , , , ,

        los comentarios están cerrados.