QAnon的阴谋是假的. 它对儿童福利团体的伤害是真实的

华盛顿州 儿童福利组织几个月来一直感受到 冠状病毒大流行, 导航有关 未报告的虐待 并确保他们的资源可供高危儿童使用.

但现在, 爆发更深, 一个新的挑战正在出现,这使他们的关键外展工作变得复杂: 的 QAnon 阴谋论.
最基本的QAnon信念 — 完全脱离现实 — 选唐纳德·特朗普总统为反对 “深层状态” 以及虐待儿童的民主党政客和名人的阴险阴谋. 它的特点是一位匿名的政府内部人士称 “问” 据说他通过隐秘的在线帖子分享有关这场战斗的秘密信息.
这是那些遵循阴谋论的人的行为 — 他们为帮助受虐儿童所做的应有的努力 — 这给实际的儿童福利团体带来了越来越大的压力.
    问题变得如此严重,以至于一个这样的组织, 育儿, 表示,必须在其危机热线中设置自动回复消息,以过滤掉QAnon呼叫者的名字之后出现的QAnon呼叫者.
    “如果您有一位热线咨询员正在花时间与讨论揭穿阴谋论的人交谈, 下一行可能有一个孩子,” 达芙妮·杨(Daphne Young), 儿童救助首席传播官, 告诉CNN.
    QAnon的崛起 — 并从互联网转移到儿童福利组织的热线 — 标志着在大流行期间保护高危儿童的最新努力.
    爆发初期,美国各州向美国有线电视新闻网(CNN)提供的数据显示,由于社会疏远措施使孩子们辍学,虐待儿童的报告大幅下降. 虽然通常这是受欢迎的新闻, 专家说下降可能真的意味着更多的案件没有引起注意.
    结果是, 诸如Childhelp之类的福利团体肩负着使自己越来越能够获得援助的重担, 特别是考虑到 美国教育部.
    但是现在QAnon阴谋论进一步加重了他们的努力, Young表示,这种损害的腐蚀性远超出人们的认识.
    除了拨打他们的热线电话, Young解释说QAnon确实 “对我们工作的精神损害, 这是哭泣的狼现象。”
    “如果您让人们不断在社交媒体上日复一日地抱怨虐待,那不是真的 — 那是, 好莱坞的每个人都是大规模集体的一部分,他们在喝孩子们的鲜血, 这实际上是阴谋论之一, 从肾上腺喝酒以保持年轻 — 这种疯狂淹没了一个寻求帮助的孩子, 需要资源的父母,” 她说.
    “它淹没了所有试图与我们取得联系的幸存者, 不仅是“哭狼”,’ 但我认为这也给 — 以一种奇怪的方式 — 它给掠食者一点保护, 因为如果每个人都在哭泣, 那么也许街上的那个家伙也没有这样做。”
    该信息已被其他儿童福利团体回响, 越来越多的人担心QAnon支持者 模糊差异 在他们的阴谋理论与真正的福利和倡导组织的工作之间.
    儿童安全基金会, 旨在保护儿童免受性虐待和创伤, 现在在其网站上发表有力的声明,将QAnon发起人视为 “寄生虫” 尝试去 “劫持领导斗争的组织的好名声” 反对真正的虐待.
    “扩大足迹, 获得信誉, 散布错误信息, 他们将仇恨和偏执的信息与知名, 备受好评的组织 — 特别是那些致力于制止儿童性虐待和性贩运的人. 该策略可能会削弱我们的身份, 损害我们的声誉,损害我们的良好行为,” 声明说.
    切丽·本乔瑟夫(Cherie Benjoseph), 基金会首席项目官兼联合创始人, 分别告诉CNN,QAnon的崛起变得特别成问题,因为人们已经 “勉强接受儿童性虐待的现实,却没有被QAnon卑鄙的存在赶走。”
    以一种特别显着的力量表现, 多于 100 反人口贩运和儿童福利组织发表公开信,警告QAnon对其工作构成的危险.
    “代表一个资金不足且无党派的领域,致力于结束这种可怕的剥削和虐待形式,并帮助那些幸存者, 我们敦促您满足实际需求,而不是出于政治动机和极具危险性的叙述,这些叙述伤害了他们声称要代表的人 — 受害人, 幸存者, 孩子们, 家庭和弱势社区,” 十月份的信说.
    但是即使有知名团体的大力推动, 阴谋论已被证明具有独特的持久力 — 部分原因是来自共和党某些部分的支持.
    近两打共和党人 参与阴谋论的全国各地的人都出现在本月的选票上, 有的甚至占了上风.
    玛乔丽·泰勒·格林, 以拥护QAnon阴谋论而闻名的共和党女商人, 赢得她的美国众议院竞选代表西北佐治亚州. 和共和党人劳伦·伯伯特, 他也参与了阴谋论, 占领了科罗拉多州的第三国会区.
    格林叫 “问,” 阴谋论中的匿名中心人物, 一个 “爱国者” 在一个 2017 此后已删除的Facebook视频, Boebert在5月份的YouTube节目上说,她希望QAnon是真实的, “因为这仅意味着美国正在变得越来越强大, 人们正在回归保守的价值观。”
    格林的发言人拒绝评论她对阴谋论的支持, 并且Boebert的广告系列没有返回CNN的置评请求. 伯伯特(Boebert)之前曾说她不是该运动的追随者,而她的竞选活动使她与阴谋理论家保持距离. 在她的主要胜利之后, 格林撤回了她的支持,并说QAnon候选人标签 “不代表我”
    总统同样拒绝否认阴谋论. 在上个月的NBC新闻大会堂上, 特朗普说他只知道QAnon是 “非常反对恋童癖” 他同意这种观点.
    这种全国性的接触使真正的儿童福利宣传的几乎每个方面都变得复杂, 包括专注于关键的教育和培训组成部分的组织.
    有些已经受苦了.
    凯特琳·布鲁尔(Katelyn Brewer), 《黑暗到光明》的总裁兼首席执行官 — 预防儿童性虐待小组,并提供一系列培训课程 — 告诉CNN,在其名字加入QAnon阴谋论之后,她已经辞去了董事会成员的职务,他们也开始担心该组织也被拖入其中.
    “辞职的部分推动力是事情正在威胁. 我的名字和黑暗之光的名字开始被带入阴谋讨论中,” 布鲁尔说.
    “那个董事会成员说, '你懂, 我自己很难应付. 我不想建立一个自己喜欢的组织,并且一直在为 20 几年。””
    “这是毁灭性的,” 布鲁尔继续. “那个董事会成员是 — 很坦率地说, 仍然存在 — 终身致力于保护儿童。”
    黑暗无光尚未将QAnon教育纳入其培训,因为, 如布鲁尔解释, 它不想 “相信这种阴谋。”
    “我们在内部进行了几次对话,并且在第一次讨论时就进行了讨论, 什么, 五个月前, 我们肯定在谈论是否要说些什么,我们确实看到其他组织发布了声明,” 她说.
    “在《从黑暗到光明》中,我们拥有许多公司价值观, 但其中之一是要尊重受害者和幸存者的声音. 如果我们在QAnon周围的谈话中全神贯注,那我们就不会感到自己忠实于自己。, 因为它不尊重受害者和幸存者的声音。”
    现在的关注点是QAnon将持续多长时间, 以及从已经造成的损害中恢复所需的费用.
    维克多·维斯, 零滥用项目研究与教育总监, 告诉CNN,该领域花了数十年的时间从​​一系列关于撒旦邪教和虐待儿童的阴谋理论中恢复过来,这些理论在1980年代引起了人们的关注.
    “20多年来,我们一直在与这个神话作斗争,并取得了巨大的成就, 进步很大. 我们结束了 900 认可的儿童倡导中心. 我们已经解除了对各种形式的创伤治疗的回应. 我们知道什么是基于证据的预防方法,” 他说.
    “我们知道采访孩子的循证方法是什么. 我们知道什么是为孩子准备出庭的基于证据的方法. 确保信念的最佳做法是. 现在, 由于阴谋的增长几乎是一夜之间, 我们回到了第一广场。”
    对于年轻, 显然,只有当人们意识到在网络上传播它和它给处于危险中的孩子带来的危害之间的相关性时,才会从阴谋论中获得缓和.
    “如果有什么消息我可以传达给那些在线论坛上的人, 这是您对虚假信息的斗争将是对儿童性虐待的斗争,” 她说.
      “您在与这些内容争斗,不共享也不散发 — 如果那是您最少要做的就是根本不参加 — 您会帮助与儿童性虐待作斗争的实际人们,而不是与他人分享或帮助向火上加油。”
      任何担心遭受虐待或忽视的人都可以联系全国虐待儿童热线: 1-800-422-4453 或childhelphotline.org. 危机咨询员接听电话 24/7 并秘密提供危机干预, 信息和推荐.

      发表评论

      您的电子邮件地址不会被公开. 必需的地方已做标记 *

      *

The QAnon conspiracy is fake. The harm it's doing to child welfare groups is real

Washington Child welfare organizations for months have felt the full weight of the coronavirus pandemic, navigating concerns about unreported abuse and ensuring their resources are available to at-risk children.

But now, deeper into the outbreak, a new challenge is emerging that’s complicating their critical outreach efforts: the QAnon conspiracy theory.
The most basic QAnon belief — entirely divorced from reality — casts President Donald Trump as the hero in a fight against the “deep state” and a sinister cabal of Democratic politicians and celebrities who abuse children. It features an anonymous government insider called “Q” who purportedly shares secret information about that fight via cryptic online posts.
And it’s the behavior of those who follow the conspiracy theory — their supposed efforts to help abused children — that’s putting an increasing strain on the resources of actual child welfare groups.
    The problem has become so severe that one such organization, Childhelp, says it had to set up an auto-response message on its crisis hotline to filter out QAnon callers after their name appeared in a QAnon meme.
    “If you have a hotline counselor who is taking time to speak to someone discussing a debunked conspiracy theory, there may be a child holding on the next line,” Daphne Young, chief communications officer for Childhelp, told CNN.
    The rise of QAnon — and its movement off the internet and onto the hotlines of child welfare organizations — marks just the latest wrinkle in the effort to protect at-risk children during the pandemic.
    Figures provided to CNN from states across the country in the early months of the outbreak showed considerable drops in child abuse reports as social distancing measures kept kids out of school. While that would usually be welcome news, experts say the decline might really mean more cases are going unnoticed.
    As a result, welfare groups like Childhelp have shouldered the burden of making themselves increasingly available for assistance, especially given the muted response from the US Department of Education.
    But now the QAnon conspiracy theory is further straining their efforts, and Young says the damage is far more corrosive than people realize.
    Beyond the calls to their hotline, Young explains that QAnon does “psychic damage to our work, which is the crying wolf phenomenon.”
    “If you get people constantly crying about abuse day in and day out on social media that is not real — that is, everybody in Hollywood is part of a mass cabal drinking the blood of children, which is literally one of the conspiracy theories, drinking from their adrenal glands to stay young — this madness drowns out a child asking for help, a parent that needs resources,” she said.
    “It drowns out anyone that’s a survivor who is trying to get in touch with us, and it’s not only ‘cries wolf,’ but I think that it also gives — in a strange way — it gives predators a little protection, because if everybody’s crying abuse, then maybe the guy down the street didn’t do it either.”
    That message has been echoed by other child welfare groups, which have become increasingly vocal with concerns that QAnon supporters are blurring the difference between their conspiracy theories and the work of real welfare and advocacy organizations.
    The KidSafe Foundation, which aims to protect children from sexual abuse and trauma, now boasts a forceful statement on its website deriding QAnon promoters as “parasites” trying to “hijack the good names of organizations leading the fight” against real abuse.
    “To grow their footprint, gain credibility, and spread misinformation, they associate their message of hate and bigotry with well-known, well-regarded organizations — specifically those working to end child sexual abuse and sex trafficking. That strategy threatens to diminish our identities, tarnish our reputations and harm our good works,” the statement says.
    Cherie Benjoseph, the chief program officer and co-founder of the foundation, separately told CNN that the rise of QAnon has become especially problematic because people are already “reluctant enough to accept the reality of child sexual abuse without being driven away by QAnon’s despicable presence.”
    In one particularly notable show of force, more than 100 anti-trafficking and child welfare organizations published an open letter warning of the dangers that QAnon posed to their work.
    “On behalf of an underfunded and nonpartisan field dedicated to ending this horrific form of exploitation and abuse and helping those who have survived it, we urge you to engage real needs rather than politically motivated and profoundly dangerous narratives that harm the very people who they claim to be speaking for — victims, survivors, children, families and vulnerable communities,” the October letter said.
    But even with considerable pushback from reputable groups, the conspiracy theory has proved to have a unique staying power — in part because of buy-in from some parts of the GOP.
    Nearly two dozen Republicans across the country who have engaged with the conspiracy theory appeared on the ballot this month, and some even prevailed.
    Marjorie Taylor Greene, a Republican businesswoman known for espousing QAnon conspiracy theories, won her US House race to represent northwest Georgia. And Republican Lauren Boebert, who has also engaged with the conspiracy theory, captured Colorado’s 3rd Congressional District.
    Greene called “Q,” the anonymous central figure in the conspiracy theory, a “patriot” in a 2017 Facebook video that has since been deleted, and Boebert said on a YouTube show in May that she hopes QAnon is real, “because it only means that America is getting stronger and better, and people are returning to conservative values.”
    A spokesperson for Greene declined to comment on her support for the conspiracy theory, and Boebert’s campaign did not return CNN’s request for comment. Boebert has previously said she was not a follower of the movement and her campaign has worked to distance her from the conspiracy theorists. After her primary win, Greene walked back her support and said the QAnon candidate label “doesn’t represent me.”
    The President has similarly refused to disavow the conspiracy theory. During an NBC News town hall last month, Trump said he only knows that QAnon is “very much against pedophilia” and he agrees with that sentiment.
    That kind of national exposure complicates nearly every aspect of real child welfare outreach, including organizations that focus on the crucial education and training components.
    Some have already been afflicted.
    Katelyn Brewer, the president and CEO of Darkness to Light — a child sexual abuse prevention group with a slate of training courses — told CNN that she had a board member resign after their name became attached to a QAnon conspiracy theory and they became concerned about the organization being dragged into it as well.
    “Part of the impetus of that resignation was that things were threatening. My name and Darkness to Light’s name was starting to be brought into the sort of conspiracy conversations,” Brewer said.
    “And so that board member said, ‘You know, it’s hard enough dealing with this for myself. I don’t want to bring in an organization I love and that’s been doing good work for 20 years into this.'”
    “And it was devastating,” Brewer continued. “That board member was — quite frankly, still remains — an incredibly dedicated lifelong commitment to child protection.”
    Darkness to Light hasn’t incorporated QAnon education into its training because, as Brewer explains, it doesn’t want to “give credit to this conspiracy.”
    “We’ve had a couple of conversations about it internally and when it first sort of all came to a head, what, five months ago, we definitely talked about whether or not to say something and we did see other organizations release statements,” she said.
    “At Darkness to Light we have a number of corporate values, but one of them is to honor the voice of victims and survivors. And we did not feel that we were standing true to ourselves if we sort of wrapped ourselves up in the conversation around QAnon, because it doesn’t honor the voice of victims and survivors.”
    The concern now centers on how long QAnon will be around for, and what it will take to recover from the damage it’s already done.
    Victor Vieth, the director of research and education at the Zero Abuse Project, told CNN that it had taken decades for the field to recuperate from a set of conspiracy theories about satanic cults and child abuse that had gained traction in the 1980s.
    “For 20-some years we have been fighting back against that myth and we have made great, great progress. We’ve got over 900 accredited children’s advocacy centers. We have lifted the bar responding to all forms of trauma treatment. We know what is an evidence-based approach to preventing it,” he said.
    “We know what is an evidence-based approach for interviewing a child. We know what is an evidence-based approach for preparing a child for court. And what’s a best practice for securing a conviction. Now, almost overnight because of the growth of conspiracy, we’re back at square one.”
    For Young, it’s clear that reprieve from the conspiracy theory will start only when people realize the correlation between spreading it online and the harm it brings to at-risk children.
    “If there was any message I could give to somebody who’s sort of wrapped up on these online forums, it’s that your fight against disinformation would be a fight against child sexual abuse,” she said.
      “You fighting this stuff and not sharing it and not sending it around — if that’s the least you could do is simply not participate in it — you would be helping the actual folks that are fighting child sexual abuse rather than sharing this or helping to pour gas on the fire.”
      Anyone worried about the possibility of abuse or neglect can contact the national child abuse hotline: 1-800-422-4453 or childhelphotline.org. Crisis counselors answer calls 24/7 and confidentially provide crisis intervention, information and referrals.

      Leave a Reply

      Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

      *