大麻现在在大多数州都是合法的, 毒品嗅探 K-9 的作用正在发生变化

“让狗绕着某人的车跑,试图找到一个关节, 那些日子结束了,” 布赖恩·希金斯, 纽约市约翰杰刑事司法学院兼职教授和公共安全顾问, 告诉福克斯新闻.

纽约新泽西州 今年早些时候使休闲大麻合法化, 加入越来越多的州, 包括加利福尼亚. 其他人允许将大麻用于医疗用途或将该药物合法化.

“我们在那些狗身上投入了这么多钱, 只是说我们已经完成了? 我们做不到。”

— 中士. 布莱克怀特, 科罗拉多州巡逻队

希金斯曾担任新泽西州卑尔根县警察局的负责人, 为该县提供 K-9 服务 70 司法管辖区.

希金斯, 谁退休后 27 在职多年, 告诉福克斯新闻,狗检测毒品的需求仍然存在, 特别是寻找 “大型运输” 和分发.

布劳沃德警长办公室的一名副手管理他的 K-9 狗, 胡佛, 6 月检查被盗汽车是否有任何毒品迹象 17, 2015 (迪尔菲尔德海滩), 佛罗里达.

布劳沃德警长办公室的一名副手管理他的 K-9 狗, 胡佛, 6 月检查被盗汽车是否有任何毒品迹象 17, 2015 (迪尔菲尔德海滩), 佛罗里达. (乔·雷德尔/盖蒂图片社)

“纯粹从毒品嗅探的角度来看, 你不需要那么多 [K-9] ......与我们目前拥有的相比,” 他继续. 那说, “可卡因仍然是非法的, 海洛因仍然是一个主要问题。”

希金斯补充说: “真, 警察的重点并不是逮捕我们的出路. 更多的是为了分发, 重量和非法走私。”

纽约州警方发言人告诉福克斯新闻,该部门正在考虑其受过大麻训练的 K-9 的命运. 执法机构吹嘘 98 警犬, 39 其中接受过检测大麻的培训, 发言人说. 官员已停止仅基于大麻气味进行的车辆和人员搜查.

纽约警察局发言人表示,该部门的大部分警犬及其任务 “不受法律变化的影响。”

北卡罗来纳州警察局停止对“人员配备危机”中的某些非紧急犯罪事件作出反应’

“然而, 纽约警察局目前正在审查犬类搜索指南,因为它们适用于一组有限的情况,” 发言人在一封电子邮件声明中补充说.

警犬在其生命周期中花费数十万美元,预计对它们检测非法毒品(尤其是大量毒品)的依赖将会增加, 专家说.

但是对狗进行嗅探训练的需求正在减弱, 一些司法管辖区甚至在杂草合法化之前就对减少的需求做出了回应.

在新泽西, 执法官员于 4 月呼吁停止培训 K-9 检测大麻 2019, 在它合法化之前一年多.

当时, 司法部长古比尔·格雷瓦尔说,已经被教过嗅探大麻的警犬仍可用于在仍有可能违法的情况下进行侦查。, 例如在学校或惩教设施中, 根据当时美联社的报道.

他指出,警方无法 “一列火车” 他们的 K-9 已经学会了检测锅的气味, 如果有这种需要,可以在以后培训他们这样做.

约翰·德卡洛, 布兰福德的警务专家和前警察局长, 康乃狄克州, 估计周围有 50,000 K-9 目前与全国各部门合作. 开始, 每只狗大约花费 $ 8,000, 加上大约 $ 15,000 除了每年的费用和对招募来照顾动物的人员的额外付款之外的培训费用, 德卡洛说.

洗一些. 警犬经过重新训练以避免吸食大麻

科罗拉多州 是最早在修正案中率先将休闲大麻合法化的州之一 64 11 月通过 2012. 这使国家成为某种实验室.

“科罗拉多州真的是很多东西的学习基地,” 中士. 布莱克怀特, 科罗拉多州巡逻队发言人, 告诉福克斯新闻. 他补充说,在娱乐用途合法化之前,该州一直没有跟踪许多与大麻相关的统计数据。, 那时有 “对我们来说非常快速的学习曲线。”

布莱克将科罗拉多描述为 “合法休闲大麻的试验台,” 一个结果是逐渐淘汰吸食大麻的警犬.

“当我们引入新狗时, 我们没有对他们进行大麻方面的培训,” 他说. “但在财务和后勤上, 一切, 我们不能停止使用我们用于毒品检测的犬科动物, 那些接受过大麻训练的人, 以及.

“我们在那些狗身上投入了这么多钱, 只是说我们已经完成了? 我们做不到。”

比以往任何时候都更重要的是,官员确定可能的原因表明一个人使用大麻是出于个人用途以外的原因, 他说.

“狗不会……告诉我们, '哦, 我闻到一盎司’, 或者‘我闻到半盎司, 要么 10 磅。’他们将学习是否有他们接受过训练的其中一种事物的气味,” 布莱克补充说. “所以, 这真的是它依靠官员说的, '好, 这里还有更多事情要做来发展我使用这只狗的可能原因, 即使他们可能接受过大麻方面的培训。””

科罗拉多州巡逻队不再有任何受过大麻检测训练的 K-9, 他说.

大麻合法化是 “每个军官的大转变,” 布莱克说, 称呼它 “更多的是一种精神上的转变, 仅适用于一般执法。”

布鲁姆菲尔德, 科罗拉多州, 在这张未注明日期的照片中,警官展示了他和他的 K-9 搭档 Nik 如何在市政中心停车场的车外搜索可能的毒品.

布鲁姆菲尔德, 科罗拉多州, 在这张未注明日期的照片中,警官展示了他和他的 K-9 搭档 Nik 如何在市政中心停车场的车外搜索可能的毒品. (大卫詹宁斯/数字第一媒体/博尔德每日相机来自盖蒂图片社)

它还产生了新的法律问题, 例如在其他毒品案件中使用接受过大麻检测训练的警犬是否合宪.

在一个 2019 科罗拉多州最高法院的决定, 法官裁定官员 “必须有合理的理由相信某个物品或区域含有违反州法律的药物,然后才能部署一只毒品检测犬,该犬会警告大麻进行探索性嗅探。”

康涅狄格警察“大狗”’ 嗅出 420 U-HAUL 卡车中的几磅大麻

当时, 法院正在审查围绕毒品逮捕和定罪的情况. 警方表示,他们在凯文麦克奈特的卡车内发现了他们确定为含有甲基苯丙胺痕迹的管道, 但使用了一个名为 Kilo 的警察 K-9,它接受过检测多种毒品的训练, 包括大麻.

在搜查麦克奈特的车辆之前,警察没有确定可能的原因, 麦克奈特的信念最终被推翻.

“即使是一丝大麻也能引发 Kilo 与任何数量的甲基苯丙胺相同的反应,” 高等法院裁定. 后来加了: “[ñ]o 无论他的鼻子多么可靠, Kilo 现在可以为大麻呈现一种误报. 基于大麻始终是违禁品的观念,他接受过对大麻的警觉训练, 当根据州法律不再如此时。”

另一个带头的州, 尽管以不同的方式, 是 俄勒冈州. 去年11月, 根据州投票措施,持有一定数量的大量毒品被合法化.

一名高级副警长和 K9 '闪电战', 在这张未注明日期的照片中,在 Santa Susana 公园检查汽车中是否有隐藏的毒品. (斯宾塞韦纳/洛杉矶时报通过盖蒂图片社拍摄)

一名高级副警长和 K9“闪电战”, 在这张未注明日期的照片中,在 Santa Susana 公园检查汽车中是否有隐藏的毒品. (斯宾塞韦纳/洛杉矶时报通过盖蒂图片社拍摄) (斯宾塞韦纳/洛杉矶时报通过盖蒂图片社)

措施 110 2月生效, 减少对某些数量的甲基苯丙胺的处罚, 可卡因, 摇头丸, 狂喜, 海洛因, 羟考酮和 LSD, 在其他硬性药物中. 该措施将重点从警务转移到成瘾治疗.

“我所知道的, 俄勒冈州是第一个这样做的,” 上尉说. 蒂姆·福克斯, 俄勒冈州警察公共信息官.

该部门对放宽的大麻法律并不陌生. 持有少量 被合法化 在俄勒冈州 1973. 娱乐用途 被合法化 对于成年人 2014.

今天, 根据该州新的禁毒执法法, 福克斯说他的部门专注于 “整体” 与每次警察拦截有关的情况.

我们是否正在寻找试图交付的人 60 磅的可卡因从加利福尼亚到华盛顿? 或者我们在看有用户数量的人, 他们从一个街区走到另一个街区?” 他解释. “这就是一切。”

如果有小费, 您可以通过 stephanie.pagones@fox.com 联系 Stephanie Pagones.

类别:

i898

标签:

, , , ,

评论被关闭.

With marijuana now legal in most states, role of drug-sniffing K-9s is changing

“Running the dog around somebody’s car to try and find a joint, those days are over,” Brian Higgins, an adjunct professor at John Jay College of Criminal Justice in New York City and a public safety and security consultant, told Fox News.

New York and New Jersey legalized recreational marijuana earlier this year, joining a growing number of states, including California. Others have allowed pot for medical use or decriminalized the drug.

“We invest so much money into those dogs, to just say we’re done? We couldn’t do it.”

—  Sgt. Blake White, Colorado State Patrol

Higgins served at the helm of Bergen County Police Department in New Jersey, which provided K-9 services to the county’s 70 jurisdictions.  

Higgins, who retired after 27 years on the job, told Fox News that the need for dogs to detect narcotics still exists, especially for finding “large-scale transportation” and distribution. 

A deputy with the Broward Sheriff's Office runs his K-9 dog, Hoover, over a stolen car for any signs of drugs on June 17, 2015 in Deerfield Beach, Florida.

A deputy with the Broward Sheriff’s Office runs his K-9 dog, Hoover, over a stolen car for any signs of drugs on June 17, 2015 in Deerfield Beach, Florida. (Joe Raedle/Getty Images)

“Purely from a narcotics-sniffing standpoint, you’re not going to need as many [K-9s] … compared to what we currently have,” he continued. That said, “cocaine is still going to be illegal, heroin is still a major problem.”

Higgins added: “Really, the focus in police has not really been to arrest our way out of it. It’s more for the distribution, weight and the illegal smuggling.”

A New York State Police spokesperson told Fox News the department is mulling the fate of its marijuana-trained K-9s. The law enforcement agency boasts 98 police dogs, 39 of which are trained in detecting marijuana, the spokesperson said. Officers have discontinued vehicle and person searches that are conducted based solely on the scent of marijuana.

An NYPD spokesperson said the majority of the department’s police dogs and their tasks “are not impacted by the change in the law.”

NORTH CAROLINA POLICE DEPARTMENT STOPS RESPONDING TO CERTAIN NON-EMERGENCY CRIMES AMID ‘STAFFING CRISIS’

“However, the NYPD is currently reviewing canine search guidelines as they pertain to a limited set of circumstances,” the spokesperson added in an emailed statement.

Police dogs cost hundreds of thousands of dollars over their lifespan and the reliance on them to detect illegal drugs – especially large quantities – is expected to grow, experts said.

But the need for dogs to be trained in sniffing out pot is waning, and some jurisdictions have responded to the diminished need even before weed was legalized there. 

In New Jersey, law enforcement officials made the call to stop training K-9s in detecting marijuana in April 2019, over a year before it was legalized. 

At the time, Attorney General Gurbir Grewal said police dogs that had already been taught to sniff out pot could still be used for detection in situations where it would still likely be illegal, such as in schools or in correctional facilities, according to an Associated Press report at the time. 

He noted that police could not “un-train” their K-9s who had been taught to detect the smell of pot, while training them to do so could be done at a later date if such a need presented itself.

John DeCarlo, a policing expert and former police chief in Branford, Connecticut, estimated that there are around 50,000 K-9s currently working with departments nationwide. To start, each dog costs approximately $ 8,000, plus about $ 15,000 in training costs on top of the year-to-year expenses and the extra payments toward the personnel enlisted to care for the animals, DeCarlo said.

SOME WASH. POLICE DOGS RE-TRAINED TO AVOID SMELLING MARIJUANA

Colorado was one of the first states to lead the charge in legalizing recreational marijuana when Amendment 64 was passed in November 2012. That made the state a laboratory of sorts.

“Colorado is really a learning ground for a lot of things,” Sgt. Blake White, a spokesperson for Colorado State Patrol, told Fox News. He added that the state hadn’t been tracking many marijuana-related statistics until recreational use was legalized, at which point there was “a very quick learning curve for us.”

Blake described Colorado as “a test bed for legal recreational marijuana,” with one result being a slow phase-out of marijuana-sniffing police dogs.

“As we introduced new dogs, we did not train them on marijuana,” he said. “But financially and logistically, everything, we couldn’t just stop using our canines that we had for drug detection, that were trained in marijuana, as well.

“We invest so much money into those dogs, to just say we’re done? We couldn’t do it.”

It became more important than ever that officers establish probable cause showing that a person was using marijuana for reasons other than personal use, he said.  

“The dog isn’t going … to tell us, ‘Oh, I smell an ounce’, or ‘I smell half an ounce, or 10 pounds.’ They’re going to learn if there’s an odor of one of those things that they’re trained on,” Blake added. “So, that’s really where it relied upon the officer to say, ‘OK, there’s more going on here to develop my probable cause to use this dog, even though they may be trained on marijuana.’”

The Colorado State Patrol no longer has any K-9s on the force that have been trained in detecting marijuana, he said. 

Legalization of pot was “a big transition for every officer,” Blake said, calling it “more of a mental shift than anything else, just for law enforcement in general.” 

A Broomfield, Colorado, police officer demonstrates how he and his K-9 partner Nik searches the outside of a car for possible drugs in the parking lot of the civic center in this undated photo.

A Broomfield, Colorado, police officer demonstrates how he and his K-9 partner Nik searches the outside of a car for possible drugs in the parking lot of the civic center in this undated photo. (David Jennings/Digital First Media/Boulder Daily Camera via Getty Images)

It also created new legal questions, such as the constitutionality of using a police dog that had been trained in detecting marijuana in other drug cases.

In a 2019 decision by the Colorado Supreme Court, justices ruled that officers “must have probable cause to believe that an item or area contains a drug in violation of state law before deploying a drug-detection dog that alerts to marijuana for an exploratory sniff.”

CONNECTICUT POLICE ‘BIG DOGS’ SNIFF OUT 420 POUNDS OF MARIJUANA IN U-HAUL TRUCK

At the time, the court was examining the circumstances surrounding a drug arrest and convictions. Police said they found what they determined to be a pipe containing traces of methamphetamine inside Kevin McKnight’s truck, but had used a police K-9 named Kilo that had been trained to detect multiple drugs, including marijuana. 

The officers had not established probable cause before searching McKnight’s vehicle, and McKnight’s convictions were ultimately overturned.

“Even a hint of marijuana can trigger the same response from Kilo as any quantity of methamphetamine,” the high court ruled. It later added: “[N]o matter how reliable his nose, Kilo can now render a kind of false positive for marijuana. He has been trained to alert to marijuana based on the notion that marijuana is always contraband, when that is no longer true under state law.”

Another state leading the charge, albeit in a different way, is Oregon. In November of last year, possession of certain amounts of a plethora of drugs was decriminalized under a state ballot measure. 

A senior deputy sheriff and K9 'Blitz', check a car for hidden drugs at Santa Susana park in this undated photo. (Photo by Spencer Weiner/Los Angeles Times via Getty Images)

A senior deputy sheriff and K9 ‘Blitz’, check a car for hidden drugs at Santa Susana park in this undated photo. (Photo by Spencer Weiner/Los Angeles Times via Getty Images) (Spencer Weiner/Los Angeles Times via Getty Images)

Measure 110 took effect in February, reducing penalties for certain amounts of methamphetamine, cocaine, MDMA, ecstasy, heroin, oxycodone and LSD, among other hard drugs. The measure took the focus away from policing and shifted it to addiction treatment.

“As far as I know, Oregon was the first to do this,” said Capt. Tim Fox, public information officer for the Oregon State Police. 

The department is no stranger to relaxed marijuana laws. Possession of small amounts was decriminalized in Oregon in 1973. Recreational use was legalized for adults in 2014. 

Today, under the state’s new drug enforcement laws, Fox said his department is focused on “the totality” of the circumstances related to each police stop.

Are we looking at somebody who’s trying to deliver 60 pounds of cocaine from California to Washington? Or are we looking at someone who has a user amount, and they’re going from neighborhood to neighborhood?” he explained. “It’s everything.”

If you’ve got a tip, you can reach Stephanie Pagones at stephanie.pagones@fox.com. 

Comments are closed.